Information Technology Core Curriculum

BYU's Information Technology program was created in 2001 and contains a pervasive security theme across the entire curriculum.  By integrating security in this way students are better prepared to design, develop, implement and maintain secure systems.  After the core curriculum, students may chose to pursue an emphasis in Cyber Security.  The emphasis consists of two electives at the undergraduate level and up to 6 graduate level courses as listed below.

The IT Major is the designated program at BYU for the NSA/DHS Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education.

A full course map for the IT major can be found here.

IT Cyber Security Emphasis includes

  • IT466 - Information Assurance and Security (required for all IT students)
  • IT566 - Cyber Forensics
  • IT567 - Penetration Testing
  • IT544 - Systems Administration
  • IT515R - Malware Analysis and Reverse Engineering
  • IT529 - Advanced Networking
  • ISYS565 - Digital Forensics
  • IT692R - Advanced Cyber Security